The Hangover…

Nope, I am not talking about the movie version of The Hangover here.  I am talking about my own self inflicted abuse – it never occurs to me while I am drinking that ‘tomorrow I am going to feel like kaka’.  Saturday evening was our company Christmas Shin Dig, they had wine on the tables and I was all about the self-serve.  No need to line up at the bar, I’ll just scan the tables and fill my glass.  And fill my glass I did, about 6 times!!!  I am not a very big person and I am certainly not a heavy drinker, so when we got home on Saturday night/Sunday morning and I was having difficulty with balance I knew I was in trouble.  I promptly went to the kitchen for Advil and water – at least I am pro-active.  As I slipped off into an alcohol induced sleep I remembered thinking to myself that maybe, just maybe that last glass of wine was a bad idea….nah!  When I awoke around 7:00 with a pounding headache and still a bit wobbly I considered cancelling my morning run with JC and T, but I refused to admit defeat to my throbbing head and off we went.  I managed (very slowly) to finish our run, even went out shopping with JC after AND cooked up a storm in the afternoon with R.  I did not however during any part of the day yesterday feel well.   I realize that it helps to vomit on such occasions, but I think I hate vomiting more than anything in the world.  I would rather feel like kaka for 24 hours, then spend 5 minutes praying to the porcelain god.  I asked R yesterday why he doesn’t remind me of how I might feel the next day when he sees that I am clearly inebriated – his reply ‘You wouldn’t listen to me even if I did’ – and you know what?  He’s right!!  There is a first time for everything R.  🙂

December 6, 2010. Uncategorized.

Leave a Comment

Be the first to comment!

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

