Healthy Halloween – hahaha

 I recently came across an article that was advertising Healthy Halloween treat options.  Given my penchant for sweet tasty little treats I decided to devote 5 minutes of my time reading memorizing the items that are deemed ‘healthy’ for Halloween handouts.  Apples were not mentioned once, so please put thoughts of fruit out of your mind.

Here they are in no particular order:

  • Dark Chocolate Hersey’s Kisses:  For starters, I don’t like dark chocolate so I removed these from my dream list of healthy sweet treats immediately.  For those who enjoy the bitter side of chocolate these are apparently a natural source of cocoa flavonol antioxidants.  You can happily enjoy 9 of these for 180 calories, 12 grams of fat and for an added bonus 2 grams of protein.  Grade: Pass
  • Tootsie Pops (mini’s): Not to be confused with the Tootsie Roll, these are baby suckers.  Which means they have a candy coating, which leads me to believe they can’t be that great for you.  The candy will rot your teeth, and lets face it you are going to eat more than 1 of anything that is mini so even though they are around 45 calories a pop, after you devour 6 of them with all the candy coating, I wouldn’t consider these a real great find.  Grade: Fail
  • Quaker Mini Delights:  What planet is the author of the article that I read living on?  Mini Delights = Candy, not in my lifetime muchacho.  These are a pre packaged full of preservatives lunch treat.  Something parents try to trick their kids into thinking is a yummy snack so they can feel better about themselves for giving their kids ‘whole grains’. Grade: Fail
  • Nabisco Chocolate Covered Pretzels:  This things aren’t even dark chocolate coated, and they are advertised as ‘Mister Salty Milk Chocolate Pretzels’, I am not sure what is supposed to be healthy about these, other than the fact that they supposedly 100 calories snack packs.  Grade: Fail
  • Twizzlers:  Does anyone anywhere even know what the hell is in a Twizzler???  Grade: Fail

So there you have it, I obviously read an article that was sponsored (advertised) by the manufacturers of the above mentioned products.  I am not even sure I feel comfortable saying that Dark Chocolate Kisses are healthy for you, they are chocolate after all and I am sure somewhere on the package they are referred to as candies.

Looks like another unhealthy Halloween for me. 🙂

October 21, 2011. Uncategorized.

2 Comments

  1. Greta replied:

    So few people put the words “healthy” and “halloween” together. Trick or Treat for America’s Toothfairy and help rescue children from preventable pain, a very relevant issue this time of year. This year instead of giving out sugary snacks I am handing out nuts and organic fruit snacks along with an information packet! It’s a wonderful cause because so many kids don’t have access to proper dental care and education. http://bit.ly/rj2K08

  2. Mom replied:

    Turns out Hallowe’en pencils and erasers are the healthiest treats and provide hours of fun!!!!

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

