Hot Peppers

Who knew that Hot Peppers could actually burn your skin?  Show of hands here folks, and you better not all be raising your hands.  I for one, had no idea that you should wear gloves when handling hot peppers, and perhaps protective face gear.  This morning I burned my finger on the stove, it was a just a baby burn, but then when I was washing my hands with hot water and my baby finger felt like it was on fire I was reminded of my hot pepper incident.  That and the fact that we just discussed it this weekend while at friends for dinner.  A couple of weeks ago I made a big pot of chili, and R really likes things hot and spicy so I chopped up a couple of jalapeno peppers and threw them in the pot.  While slicing up these tasty little devils one of them squirted me, right in the face.  My lower lip felt like it was on fire, like it was literally burning right off my face and I would become known as G-Gi the lower lipless wonder.  Then as I washing the dishes that I had used the water felt like it was boiling, way hotter than we can normally get it at our house.  I decided to take a break from the dishes and relax in front of the tv, except I couldn’t relax.  Fire ants were crawling all over my hands, it felt like I stuck them into an open flame.  I broke out the computer and googled my way to the section of the world wide web that deals with these situations.  My fears had been confirmed, I had hot pepper burn.  The best remedy I could find online was an Olive Oil and Sugar Scrub, and while it didn’t take away all the burning, my hands felt remarkably better than they did before I used that scrub.  Lesson learned – always wear latex kitchen gloves while chopping up any sort of hot peppers.

October 24, 2011. Uncategorized.

Leave a Comment

Be the first to comment!

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

