Going back to the gym

Well, it has officially been over 1 year since I signed up for Pilates.  At that time I was tired of the same old gym routines with weights and personal trainers.  After many years of working out with a trainer, I don’t even feel that I really needed one, but I would always feel obligated to keep going back to them after I started.  Like I was betraying them if I didn’t renew my training, which was and is very costly.  They certainly don’t come cheap, but over the years I have worked with a number of trainers and have had a variety of different workouts based on their personal style of training.  So, now 1 year later I am going back to the gym ‘sans’ personal trainer.  As much as it pains me to say, Joseph Pilates did not transform my body as promised.  For those of you who don’t remember or haven’t been reading my blog for long, this is his philosophy. 

“After 10 sessions, you’ll feel different;
In 20 sessions; you’ll look different;
In 30 sessions; you’ll have a different body”

I have news for Mr. Pilates, my body is different, but not for the better.  I have lost muscle tone and strength.  So back to the gym I go.  I am going to maintain my Thursday morning reformer class, but I also need more that Pilates was providing me.  Don’t get me wrong, I still love Pilates, which is why I am keeping 1 class a week.  However, you really do need a balanced work out regime, one that provides variety (so you don’t get bored like me) and a way to really maintain and build on your strength.  And, the gym also gives me the benefit of group fitness classes to keep me motivated.  Who know’s I might even try a spin class. 🙂 

October 26, 2011. Uncategorized.

Leave a Comment

Be the first to comment!

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

