I am slowly going crazy….

1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, switch, slowly am I crazy going, 6, 5, 4, 3, 2, 1, switch.  Have you ever had a song stuck in your head for weeks on end?  I have, and I am currently singing 2 verses from a song that I can’t even recall where I ever heard it.   This song was released before I was even born, it definitely isn’t on any pop charts or iTunes headlines, and yet I can’t stop singing Melanie Safka’s ‘Brand New Key’.  That’s right, I sing over and over and over again these 2 verses.

I’ve got a pair of brand new roller skates; and you’ve got a brand new key.

Why, why, why, why, why??????  Why can’t I get this song out of head, I truly feel as though I am going CRAZY!!

Check out the video, it’s folksy, it’s nothing I would ever be into (no offense to anyone who likes folksy), and I don’t even really like roller skating.

December 5, 2011. Uncategorized.

2 Comments

  1. Bg replied:

    I remember an 8 year old who when she had some teeth out to stop an over crowed mouth, Could not get to the store fast enough to get her first Roller Skates. I would guess with age comes wisdom.

    • Auntie Em replied:

      This was a catchy song when it came out (read maddening) but it was just so much fluff. Thanks for letting me know Melanie’s last name as she was always a one moniker artist like Cher and Prince. Oh and she was not really folksie!!!!!! Just sayin’

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

